August 19, 2011

Midwest Meltdown 2018

First Fleet Concerts Presents:

Midwest Meltdown 2018

Misery Signals (Original Lineup), Dead To Fall, Too Pure To Die, With Dead Hands Rising, Preacher Gone To Texas, Eternal Sleep, Stone, Purgatory, Queensway, Piece Of Mind, No Victory, Kharma, Knaaves

Sat, February 24, 2018

Doors: 12:00 pm / Show: 12:30 pm

$30.00 - $35.00

This event is all ages

Misery Signals (Original Lineup)
Misery Signals (Original Lineup)
Guitarist Ryan Morgan and bass player Kyle Johnson had no intention of slowing down after the shocking split of 7 Angels 7 Plagues during the summer of 2002. Things were finally coming together for the band, and having just decided to quit school and work, Ryan and Kyle weren't about to switch gears any time soon. That very week they were hard at work writing songs for their new project, and later that month with the addition of Hamartia's Jeff Aust on guitar, Jesse Zaraska of Compromise on vocals, and Ryan's brother Branden on drums, Misery Signals was formed. Jeff Aust eventually left the band, cutting their spring 2003 tour short, they added Stu Ross on guitar and re-solidified their lineup. They are once again an insane touring machine.

Similar to 7 Angels 7 Plagues in style, Misery Signals play fast and heavy hardcore, tinged with brilliantly melodic interludes and transitions that converge into poignant masterpieces appealing to both the ear and the heart. Their debut 6-Song EP is a 25-minute personal and heartfelt journey through the heart and character of each of these determined musicians. This record showcases the desire and desperation of the group as a whole to persist and create in the wake of the demise of their respective bands. Misery Signals provides an outlet to express the anguish and hopefulness that drives its members, while producing a cathartic experience in listeners.

Look for their debut full length on Ferret in the Summer of 2004.
With Dead Hands Rising
With Dead Hands Rising formed in 2001. A year after their formation, the band was featured on a three-way split EP, Words as Weapons Volume 1 with Wings Of Scarlet and Tears Will Drown after signing to Life Sentence Records. In January 2003, the band's first full-length Behind Inquisition was released. WDHR followed up their first full-length with an EP titled The Horror Grows Near in May 2004 The band officially signed with Mediaskare Records in 2008 and released their last and final album, Expect Hell. A year after the release of their second full-length, the band was officially disbanded in 2009.
Eternal Sleep
Eternal Sleep
American hardcore band from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
Four-piece hardcore act from Baltimore, MD.
Venue Information:
Blue Moose Tap House
211 Iowa Avenue
Iowa City, IA, 52242